Friday 10 August 2012

Sufi Circuits for Tourists

The Ministry of Tourism has appointed a National Level Consultant (NLC) to identify some spiritual tourism circuits, including Sufi Circuit, for integrated development in association with the States/Union Territories for development during the 12th Plan period. The list of Sufi Circuits identified by NLC is given below:

Circuits Identified
1.      Delhi – Fatehpur Sikri - Ajmer
2.      Mumbai – Aurangabad  - Shirdi
3.      Sufi circuit of Bihar
4.      Hyderabad – Bijapur - Gulbarga
 Development and promotion of places of tourist interest, including development & promotion of spiritual/pilgrim circuits are primarily undertaken by the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations themselves. However, the Ministry of Tourism provides Central Financial Assistance (CFA) for tourism projects including wayside amenities, identified in consultation with them, subject to availability of funds and inter-se priority under various schemes of the Ministry.
This information was given by the Minister of State for Tourism, Shri Sultan Ahmed  in a written reply to Dr. Chandan Mitra in Rajya Sabhatoday.

You May Also Like


Popular Posts