Sunday 13 May 2012

Implementation of Indira Gandhi Matritva Sahyog Yojana (IGMSY) in CSM Nagar district of Uttar Pradesh

The Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs today approved the proposal for implementation of Indira Gandhi Matritva Sahyog Yojana (IGMSY) in whole Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj (CSM) Nagar district of Uttar Pradesh comprising five tehsils and also includes this as an additional district to already approved list of 52 districts.

The expenditure for three tehsils of CSM Nagar (Musafirkhana, Amethi and Gauriganj) is already included in the proposal approved by the CCEA. Addition of two remaining tehsils of Tiloi and Salon to cover full CSM Nagar which would require additional funding of Rs. 11 crore for 32000 more beneficiaries. This will be met within the approved allocation of Rs. 520 under BE 2012-13. 


The Indira Gandhi Matritva Sahyog Yojana (IGMSY), a centrally sponsored conditional maternity benefit schemes was approved by Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs in its meeting on 20.10.2010. The scheme is operational in 52 districts of all States/ UTs across the country, on pilot basis, to improve the health and nutrition status of pregnant and lactating women and their young infants. The scheme also includes Sultanpur and Mahoba districts of Uttar Pradesh. 

On 01.07.2010 a new district, namely, Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj (CSM) Nagar was carved out by the Government of UP by merging three tehsils from erstwhile Sultanpur district (Musafirkhana, Amethi and Gauriganj) and two tehsils of Raibareli district (Salon and Tiloi). In the changed situation, new Sultanpur district comprises of three tehsils i.e., Sadar, Kadipur and Lambhua. The remaining three tehsils (Musafirkhana, Amethi and Gauriganj) of erstwhile Sultanpur district now form part of CSM Nagar. As the CCEA approved the proposal of the Ministry for erstwhile Sultanpur district having six tehsils. In the changed scenario, implementation of IGMSY is limited to Sultanpur district comprising only three tehsils. The remaining three tehsils, namely Musafirkhana, Amethi and Gauriganj of erstwhile Sultanpur is left out of the purview of IGMSY. The Government of UP has requested inclusion of the remaining two tehsils of Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj Nagar, namely Salon and Tiloi, transferred from Rae Bareily district under IGMSY in addition to the three tehsils transferred from erstwhile Sultanpur so that the entire CSM Nagar district is covered under the Scheme. 

You May Also Like


Popular Posts